As expected from two of the largest national tournaments, the TOCs provided many shakeups in the Texas extemp leaderboards. While Kate Fisher (Saint Mary’s) continues her reign as state Points Leader, the rest of the top 4 has shifted. Nikhil Ramaswamy (Plano West), and Spencer Buckner (Lake Travis), formerly 3rd and 4th respectively, moved up a spot following Katherine Hu (Plano Senior)‘s absence from either TOC. Fisher and Ramaswamy also become the first extempers to break over 300 points in this year’s points race. Elizabeth Khalilian (Plano West) and Juliet Ume-Ezeoke (Pflugerville) traded places on the leaderboard since state, with Khalilian’s UKTOC final and ETOC quarterfinal finish giving her enough points to pass up Ume-Ezeoke’s ETOC final. Sandipan Nath (Plano West) entered the top 10 for the first time this year after a finish in ETOC semifinals, bumping Nicci Mattey (Saint Mary’s) out. Lekha Sunder (Lamar) jumped 11 spots to 11th in the points race after a UKTOC final, and Chance Walker (Jack C. Hays) re-entered the top 25 in his highest placement thus far this year at 16th after quarterfinaling at the ETOC. Rene Otero (Hendrickson)‘s quarterfinal finish at the UKTOC also propelled him up 6 spots to 17th, pushing back many of the competitors ranked in the teens that did not attend–or did not break at either TOC. With only 1 more installment left of the extemp points race left over a month from now in June, a lot can change, but as the season nears a close, much has remained consistent.

Rank Name School Points
1 Kate Fisher Saint Mary’s (San Antonio) 349
2 Nikhil Ramaswamy Plano West (Dallas) 307
3 Spencer Buckner Lake Travis (Austin) 285
4 Katherine Hu Plano Senior (Dallas) 257
5 Elizabeth Khalilian Plano West (Dallas) 196
6 Juliet Ume-Ezeoke Pflugerville (Austin) 189
7 Jackson Freeman Westwood (Austin) 131
8 Sarah Lanier Northland Christian (Houston) 98
9 Sandipan Nath Plano West (Dallas) 93
10 Uzair Alpial Plano West (Dallas) 91
11 Lekha Sunder Lamar (Houston) 79
12 Nicci Mattey Saint Mary’s (San Antonio) 65
13 Evan Bewersdorf Lindale (Dallas) 59
14 Ashwin Desai Plano West (Dallas) 56
14 Evan Ortiz Cy Fair (Houston) 56
16 Chance Walker Jack C. Hays (Austin) 54
17 Rene Otero Hendrickson (Austin) 50
18 Shaaswat Singh Plano West (Dallas) 49
19 Dru Patel Southlake Carroll (Dallas) 45
20 Ellen Wang Plano West (Dallas) 44
20 Jun-Yong Kim Seven Lakes (Houston) 44
22 Ping Rui Toong Tompkins (Houston) 43
22 Saskia Redford Saint Mary’s (San Antonio) 43
24 Hannah Liu Seven Lakes (Houston) 42
25 Steven Manning Anderson (Austin) 38
25 Sean Elsik La Vernia (San Antonio) 38